The Tree of Life

This will not be my usual short and crisp review…..Coz I don’t know how to put it that way. Instead I’ll tell you a little story(or something like that).

This was my first Terrence Malick movie. I finished this movie and sat down to write a review. And………blank.

I didn’t know how to explain what I just saw. This is the first time that something like this has happened to me. Usually I find a way to put it down but not this time. So I took to the Internet to see what others thought about the movie. Everyone had their own version of what the movie wanted to convey. So I don’t think any explanation I put up will be of any use.

You will either get engrossed in this movie or you will totally hate it. There are no middle grounds for this one. For me, it was the first one. The mysteriousness of the screenplay and the curiosity of the message that the movie was conveying, kept me riveted to the movie.

This movie is really unique in terms of its screenplay(and other aspects too). If you want to enjoy the movie, just don’t expect anything from the movie. The movie has absolutely no definitive path. Just flow with it.

P.S If you like this movie, then you can go ahead and try Darren Aronofsky’s ‘The Fountain’ also.

IMDb-“The story of a family in Waco, Texas in 1956. The eldest son witnesses the loss of innocence and struggles with his parents’ conflicting teachings.”

Leave a Reply

