Synecdoche, New York

The best Kaufman movie yet. The movie was everything I had expected from Kaufman as a director; complex, extremely dramatic, and one with a blurry line between reality and fantasy. This movie blew me away. There were so much emotions flowing, maybe a little too much.

I don’t think I’ve understood the whole movie in my first watch. I surely need another watch. As of now, I consider this as one of those movies with ambiguous endings.(that might change after a few more screenings). Philip Seymour Hoffman was absolutely incredible. This was the first movie I’ve seen with him as a lead and he was really good.

I went to bed after watching this movie and for atleast an hour, I was just thinking about the movie, trying to understand the message it wanted to convey.  There was so much of everything in the movie that I felt the need to watch it again. Like most Kaufman movies, either you’ll like it or you’ll hate it. There is no middle ground.

IMDb-“A theatre director struggles with his work, and the women in his life, as he creates a life-size replica of New York City inside a warehouse as part of his new play.”

 

Leave a Reply

