Cache (Hidden)

The simplest of thrillers!!

This was my first Michael Haneke movie and it was pretty something. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. Reason?? Open-ended….well, it was better than just a normal open ending. He actually introduces conflict in the last shot. I haven’t seen anyone doing that. The movie also, in totality, remains unresolved. Of course, you can draw your own conclusions and the way this movie is constructed, it might be difficult to challenge it (assuming that it’s an intelligent one :P).

Juliette Binoche and Daniel Auteuil were both great. In fact, Binoche led me to this movie. I just loved her performance in  Certified Copy so I went ahead to look for her other movies and found this one.

What I really liked about the movie is that it induces thrill through simplest of ways. It’s just a simple story, with fairly simple characters….still, Haneke manages to extract so much out of it. I believe that keeping the conflict unresolved made all the difference.

It’s not your typical thriller with all that tension and action. I’m not sure if you’ll like it or not but it’s really worth a watch.

IMDb-“A married couple is terrorized by a series of surveillance videotapes left on their front porch.”

Leave a Reply

