Submarine

Wikipedia on Richard Ayoade (director) says, “actor, comedian, writer, director and television presenter.”…..another Woody Allen one would guess!! Well, I see him as a cousin of Wes Anderson with as diverse portfolio of talents as Woody Allen. What a perfect guy!! But let me stop here right now…… I have only seen one of his movies (of two) so these extrapolations might be nothing more than a fantasy of two of my favorite directors coming together 😛

I have one word for the movie, QUIRKY, be it in terms of the characters or its direction. It is marked by a bold and carefree direction, with an equally intelligent use of music and cinematography, to take out the seriousness that is usually associated with movies on the similar lines. The protagonist repeatedly breaking the fourth wall, the selection of locations and even the choice of music, they don’t end up in a farrago but neither do they blend perfectly….it’s something in between…..and I really liked it.

Well, I almost forgot to appreciate how good Craig Roberts was. I haven’t seen him a lot but this movie…..it was a real display of his talent. I think we got us another Logan Lerman…….or maybe even better, who knows !!

It’s another great coming of age movie, something different from the mainstream……something you’ll really like (I hope :P)!!

IMDb-“15-year-old Oliver Tate has two objectives: To lose his virginity before his next birthday, and to extinguish the flame between his mother and an ex-lover who has resurfaced in her life.”

Leave a Reply

