La Haine

Truly a masterpiece!!

I loved everything about this movie……literally everything.

Starting from screenplay, it was a comprehensive and elegantly written piece, with no bullshit, no twists and what I think was a fairly accurate depiction of the conditions that once existed. And then there were scenes like this one(below)….. these were like cherry on the cake.

giphy-downsized

Then comes the direction. Original, quirky, bold, raw…..it was much more than these words for which I don’t have any words, you’ll have to see it for yourself to appreciate it. It took social realism to a whole another level. Here’s one of my favourite shots;

giphy-downsized (1).gif

Well, when it comes to cinematography, I read somewhere that they were only allowed to shoot in very few location due to highly sensitive content of the movie. Still, I think they made the best possible use of these locations and when I say best, I really mean it. Not forgetting the amazing music that accompanied the movie throughout. Without it, this movie would have been hollow……well actually that goes for all the movies 😛 But really, music had a major impact on the movie. The anti-police piece is something that I’ll never forget.

Well, I try not to write too long reviews…..but movies like these, they deserve it. It’s a classic, it’s a masterpiece, it’s everything a movie needs to be. I don’t think anyone will regret watching this movie. Movies like these showcase the power of films as a medium to expose the wrongs in the society. This movie, in a way, is a more mature version of American History X, which in itself is another classic. You’ve absolutely got to watch this. If this review doesn’t convince you, then maybe a 100% rating on Rottentomatoes will!! Having said that, I don’t advice you to make ratings as a basis of selection of movies; Believe me, you’ll be at a huge loss

Happy Watching!

IMDb-“24 hours in the lives of three young men in the French suburbs the day after a violent riot.”

Leave a Reply

